“Ain’t I A Woman” Revisited: Getting to know the Artists

Zemen Kidane, Curatorial Fellow at MoCADA asked three talented artists, whose work was displayed in the Ain’t I a Woman exhibition at MoCADA, questions on their art and their experience with MoCADA. Elizabeth Colombo, Phoenix Savage, and Eric Alugas come from diverse backgrounds and work in dramatically different media. It is these assorted perspectives that make MoCADA a space for colorful dialogue. Get to know these artists and look out for more of their work in the future!

ZK:Zemen Kidane
EC: Elizabeth Colombo
PS: Phoenix Savage
EA:Eric Alugas

ZK: Where do you live and where are you from?

EC: I live now in Harlem. I was born and raised in France and my family is from Martinique.

PS:I currently live in Atlanta. I have been here for the last 3 years, while I do a MFA program from Georgia State University. I am departing the area in a few short weeks, to live and work in Nigeria on a Fulbright Fellowship.

EA: I was born and raised in New Orleans, Louisiana.  I now live and work in New York City, and exhibit here, as well as in Europe, and throughout the United States.
ZK: Can you explain what you took away from the concept of the exhibit?

EC: Definitely a feeling of empowerment. Black women- actually all women- regardless of race, social upbringing, and education have been put down throughout centuries. But let it be one brave enough to lead the march and everyone will follow.

PS:I walked away thinking MOCADA really knew how to throw down at an art opening. I enjoyed the vibe of the opening reception. The beauty of the people really caught my attention. On a more artistic note, I loved the exhibition being in a space of blackness that edified the creative process. That really moved me, and bolstered my resolve that I am living my destiny.

EA: The feelings that prevailed through and after the exhibition were respect, admiration, and pride, for the institution. The concept: “the abstract body of the black woman,” was a difficult, if not maddening one. Difficult concepts, however, may very well be the most worthy of effort. I am glad I participated in the exhibition, and that MoCADA had the courage to take on the concept.

To read the discussion in full including the artists’ answers to the following questions click here.

ZK: How was presenting your work for the exhibition? … read more

ZK: How is Diaspora displayed in your piece(s)? … read more

Contributed by: Zemen Kidane, Curatorial Fellow

Leave a Reply

